Family of Bloggers Award

20121016-210554.jpg

The lovely and somewhat British sarahpotterwrites was very kind to send the Family of Bloggers Award my way. She does in fact, as her name suggests, write, and if i do say so myself, her haikus are far and away better than anything i could say in so few words. Ms. Potter, thank you very much indeed.

It means a lot to be included in the same family as folks from across the pond. Especially the country from where Doctor Who hails.

Rules:

-To thank the person who nominated you.
-To provide a link to their blog.
-Using an acrostic of the word ‘FAMILY’ tell us the attributes you bring to the family of bloggers.
-Nominate at least 4 other people to join your family of bloggers, and let them know about their nomination.

As for my acrostic, it contains some of my favorite biology vocabulary:

Flagella (amazingly complex whiplike tails on prokaryotes)
Autotrophs (they make their own food! Can anyone say “superpower?”!)
Myosin (without it your muscles don’t move!)
Interferons (help out your immune system like brick walls to germs!)
Leukocytes (white blood cells that eat diseases)
Yocto (10^-24, what a crazy small number)

To “pay it forward,” as it were, I’d like to pass the torch to some cool new followers of the site; hopefully you will check out their work. More hopefully you will hijack their comment pages with a halloween-themed video game. What a great holiday prank. Good luck.

Imagination Muscle-some of the coolest photographs of the micro world of creatures beneath my feet.

J.E. Lattimer-take a short story, scan it in manga style, post it like old-school serials of the 19th century, and you have J.E. Lattimer

Gloria the Poet– the rule of three; I need to put this poet in the third position based on her current front page poem.

Clown on Fire– and by now, the running joke of overloading this poor bozo with awards.

7 thoughts on “Family of Bloggers Award

  1. Anansi,
    You got Freshly Pressed? Brilliant! Dude, I mean this one… You deserve it! Kudos. As for this award…. NOOOOOO!!!!!!!!!!!! But thank you.
    Le Clown

  2. I love your post–especially your biological acrostic, and, of course, you describing me as “lovely” 😉

    Out of interest, is my being ‘somewhat British’ of particular interest to you wonderful guys in the US? I’m asking this, as I’m thinking of submitting some sample chapters of my children’s novel to a US publisher.

    Knowing how much I love reading Nordic literature, as the turns of phrase and forms of expression are refreshingly different from British writing, so I’m rather hoping that Americans might find it the same if they were to read my writing.

    1. SPW (I’m going to write this like an email/letter to practice the lost art),

      Your stories sound brilliant, what are they about?

      As for the British Invasion over here, we’ve steadily been adding to our BBC Pantheon over the past few years. Among my students, everything from QI to Doctor Who to Mitchell and Webb to The Real Hustle to Top Gear comes up in everyday conversation.

      But of course it isn’t just broadcasting (or Radio 4) where we borrow from you lot. We’re fans of your comedians mostly, but there’s a tiny series called “Harry Potter” that’s had some minor success on this side of the pond.

      Eoin Colfer has gained huge notoriety with his Artemis Fowl books, and we’ve even stolen one of yours (Neil Gaiman) and tried to claim him as our own. Terry Pratchett, Philip Pullman, Meg Cabot, Brian Jaques, and Roald Dahl are just a few names that are perpetually carried around in student’s backpacks or checked out at the school library.

      There’s definitely an audience here. I say “go for it.”

      Best,
      -Max

      1. Thanks, ever so. I do appreciate you practicing the lost art of emailing on me, and with such excellence, too 😉 As a consequence of your feedback, I will definitely “go for it” and submit my children’s fantasy novel to US publishers.

        The story, “Noah Padgett & the Dog-people” is about the abduction of a boy and his puppy, Bluebell, into a dimension populated by a race of biped dogs (Canis sapiens) who view them as prize collectables. Locked up in a hospital for the criminally insane, Noah must escape and find his way to the capital city to rescue his puppy from the crazed entrepreneur, Percival Poodle, before she ends up in a glass case as a taxidermy exhibit.

        That was good practice for telling publishers about the novel in two sentences, so thanks for asking what the story is about.

        It’s my first novel for this age group, but have ideas for at least one sequel–if not more. And, by the way, my young beta readers have told me there are two things they particularly love about the story: that the quirky humour makes them laugh out loud and that Percival Poodle is “really bad”.

        As your name Max is at the top of my favourites ever since I read “Where the Wild Things Are” by Maurice Sendak, I’ll close with a link to a wonderful recitation of the book by a three-year on YouTube. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=rONBbhOGD1U

        All the best,
        Sarah 🙂

Say something, Crazy Reader!

